The Rasmus

The Rasmus are a Finnish rock band that formed in 1994 in Helsinki while the band members were still in upper comprehensive school.The original band members were Lauri Ylönen (lead singer/songwriter), Eero Heinonen (bass), Pauli Rantasalmi (guitar) and Janne Heiskanen (drums). Heiskanen quit the band in 1998 and was soon replaced by Aki Hakala.

Before releasing their fourth studio album Into (2001), they were simply known as Rasmus, but changed their name to The Rasmus in order to avoid being confused with a Swedish DJ of the same name. They gained international fame with their 2003 album Dead Letters which went gold and platinum in several countries, accompanied with the single “In the Shadows” which reached number 1 in a number of countries. Their follow-up album Hide from the Sun which was released in October 2005 also went platinum in Finland.

The band is one of Finland’s most successful with more than 3.5 million sold albums worldwide, eight gold awards and five platinum awards. They have released seven studio albums, one compilation album and 21 singles. Some of the band’s most famous songs are the singles “Liquid”, “F-F-F-Falling”, “In the Shadows”, “First Day of My Life”, “Funeral Song” , “No Fear”, “Sail Away”, “Livin’ in a World Without You”, and “Justify”. Their most recent album, titled Black Roses, was released in 2008. Immediately it replaced Metallica’s latest album Death Magnetic in the Finnish Album Charts and went gold after one week.

In an interview held in June 2009, the drummer Aki Hakala revealed that a compilation of all the band’s success from the last 10 years would be released in the fall, and it would contain also the duet with Nightwish singer Anette Olzon.

In late August 2009, the compilation’s title was revealed: “Best of 2001-2009” and a month later also its cover and the tracklist were revealed too.

The duet with Anette Olzon, titled “October&April” appeared first on its official preview Friday 9th of October on a Finnish radio and was released digitally on November 17, 2009.

In early 2010, The Rasmus started working on their next album, which will be released by the band’s personal record label due to their contract with their previous label dissolving at the end of 2009.


Peep 1996

Playboys 1997

Hell of a Tester 1998

Into 2001

Dead Letters 2003

Hide from the Sun 2005

Black Roses 2008


comment this

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s